I like to move it move it

Why should we move?

A sedentary life is a significant cause to many diseases, especially related to bones (osteoporosis), muscles and the heart. Physical inactivity increases the chance of a heart disease up to 50%, type 2 diabetes to 35% and colon cancer to 30%.

But that’s not all.

Inactivity doesn’t only affect our bodies; it affects our minds as well. Grumpiness, anxiety, stress and depression can be consequences of a sedentary life. Physical activity helps us relax, be distracted from our problems, feel good about ourselves, be in good shape and sleep better. Michael Greger M.D. has an extremely interesting short video on physical exercice as a treatment for depression instead of drugs:

http://nutritionfacts.org/video/exercise-vs-drugs-for-depression/

When we are physically and mentally healthy, we are happier and live longer. I’m not saying exercise is the answer to everything, since even good things have its limits, but it helps most of the time.

When I have a bad day, I just want to go home, sit on the couch in front of the TV, watch a pointless show and do nothing for hours and hours and hours. Sometimes, that’s exactly what I do. But what I realize every time is that it doesn’t make me feel better at all. It only makes me feel useless, like I lost precious time doing absolutely nothing.

Sometimes, I do that same thing but instead of watching some pointless show, I try to watch a series where I could actually learn something, or a documentary that would at least make my mind work a bit while my body is doing absolutely nothing. Although most of the time, when I have a bad day I don’t feel like thinking, so I realize I don’t even pay attention to what I’m watching. Again, I feel useless afterwards, like I lost precious time doing absolutely nothing and worst of all, I was pretending to do something.

Other times, when I have a bad day, I decide to turn it around and do something. Even if I REAAAALLY don’t feel like it. But I don’t force myself too much, so I won’t go running for an hour when I have a bad day. Instead, I run for 15 minutes. Then, I do 20 minutes of Yoga. And then, I feel great. Remember, IT’S BETTER THAN NOTHING.

DSC_0578 copy_Fotor-min

My point is, we can always find excuses not to exercise, but if we care about our well-being and health, we should exercise at least four times a week. Do it for yourself, the people who love you and the whole society, really. Don’t overthink it. Just find what you like (group sport, dance, yoga, pilates, cycling, running, whatever) and find time for it.

Plus, physical activity doesn’t have to take a lot of time and resources. I recently found out some YouTube channels where yogis teach in short and longer videos many different yoga classes. You can do it at your house, in your time and you can even choose your level and the muscles you’d like to work on each day. Here are my two favorite:

https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene

https://www.youtube.com/user/lesleyfightmaster

Here’s an example of a simple and fast arrangement you can make in my room when practicing yoga:

DSC_0077_Fotor-min

 Namaste

